My Experience in Boot camp So far

Dennis Simiyu
2 min readJun 23, 2021

Today is the third day at boot camp. The experience has been great so far. Everything about the the boot camp looks perfect. Every single day i have been able to learn new things in every activity and assignment i had to tackle in this Skaehub boot camp.

The following are but not limited to the key areas that i have much developed during the boot camp.

Python Programming

Prior the boot i writing python code but i was not pythonic. I was much boiler plate code. I have learned how to do the web scraping using python , using the HTTP libraries to fetch content from the urls and return a JSON response.

Writing Clean Code

Before now, my major concern was to write a code that does the job , anything more was not important. But the story is not the same in the course of the Boot camp, there’s a standard I must follow. I’ve equally learnt that the way my code is organized speaks volume about who I am as a developer. I got introduced to interesting tools and makes life easier in ensuring the the codes follow a given standard.

Art of Communication

Right now, whenever I am discussing with anybody or passing a piece of information to someone, I see the 7C’s of communication staring before my face. I’ve learned that it’s not just enough to talk but talking to be understood without much strains on the listener is of great important.

Collaboration

My collaboration skill has improved significantly within these few days. I’ve learned that joining forces together yield enormous result far greater than what I can achieve working alone. I’ve equally learnt that no one knows it all, everyone in a team is very important and should be equally respected.

Integrity

Integrity is a broad topic but as regards to this topic, I’ve learnt to apply it in my day to day life as a developer. Now I understand that copying someone else’ intellectual work without proper referencing is a very bad attitude that I must abhor. I’ve equally learned to match my words with action by doing what I profess, being honest even when it is difficult to do so.

Conclusion

Like I said earlier, my experience so far is not limited to the above mentioned points, they are many! In one word, I can only but describe my experience so far as awesome!

Thanks for reading.

--

--